Palliative Care Champions

Palliative Care Champions

The Palliative Care Champions awards recognise extraordinary individuals making a significant contribution to developing palliative care in low- and middle-income countries.

They are announced on World Hospice and Palliative Care Day each year. 


Healthcare professional awards

Lailatul Ferdous, Bangladesh and Manju B.K, Nepal

Non-medical palliative care worker

Pastor Alfonso Chaves Araya, Costa Rica

Older people's champion

Anica Jušić, Croatia

Direct stakeholder champion

Nabanita Mandal, India

Policy/advocacy champion

Dr Christian Ntizimira, Rwanda

Disruptor (speaking the truth to power and challenging the status quo)

Lynna Chandra, Indonesia

Civil society leader

Dr Tandiar Samir, Egypt

Allied champion

Dr Portia Manangazira, Zimbabwe

Government champion

Penny Sebuweng-Makuruetsa, Botswana

Lifetime achievement champion

Lee Keon Huan, Mongolia

Contact Us

  34-44 Britannia Street, London, WC1X 9JG, United Kingdom


Terms of use | Disclaimer | Cookie Policy | Privacy Policy



Subscribe to receive our newsletter:Subscribe